The ASO on GPB

GPB STATEWIDE, THURSDAY 10PM-MIDNIGHT AND SUNDAY 10PM-MIDNIGHT

GPB is your ticket to the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra in concert. Hear the Grammy-winning ASO and Chorus perform the glories of classical music old and new before a live audience at the Woodruff Arts Center in Midtown Atlanta, and meet the music makers through behind-the-scenes chats with host Sarah Zaslaw.

The ASO on GPB airs Thursday and Sunday at 10 p.m.

_____________________________________________________________

AIR DATES PROGRAM PERFORMERS
     
Thursday, August 29 & Sunday, September 1, 2019, 10 p.m.

Special episode: Everything Lasts Forever, the spring 2019 release from ASO Media, with music by Michael Kurth

Robert Spano, conductor; Kelley O’Connor, mezzo-soprano; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra & Chorus

Thursday, September 5 & Sunday, September 8, 2019, 10 p.m.

Opening Night 2018–19: Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 2, Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5

Robert Spano, conductor; Kirill Gerstein, piano; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Thursday, September 12 & Sunday, September 15, 2019, 10 p.m

All-Mozart: Eine Kleine Nachtmusik, Symphony No. 40, Piano Concerto No. 24

Mei-Ann Chen, conductor; Lang Lang, piano
Thursday, September 19 & Sunday, September 22, 2019, 10 p.m.

Special concert inaugurating the new organ next door at First Presbyterian Church of Atlanta, with music of Guilmant, Reger, Decker and Jongen

Stephen Mulligan, conductor; Jens Koerndorfer, organ; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Thursday, September 26 & Sunday, September 29, 2019

Berlioz Benvenuto Cellini Overture, Vieuxtemps Violin Concerto No. 5, Ravel Daphnis and Chloe (complete ballet)

Jun Markl, conductor; Giora Schmidt, violin; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Thursday, October 3 & Sunday, October 6, 2019, 10 p.m. Britten War Requiem

Donald Runnicles, conductor; Evelina Dobraceva, soprano; Thomas Cooley, tenor; Russell Braun, baritone; Gwinnett Young Singers; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra & Chorus

Thursday, October 10 & Sunday, October 13, 2019, 10 p.m.

Mahler Symphony No. 10 Donald Runnicles, conductor; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Thursday, October 17 & Sunday, October 20, 2019, 10 p.m.

Rossini String Sonata No. 1, Beethoven Symphony No. 8, Brahms Violin Concerto

Roberto Abbado, conductor; Veronika Eberle, violin; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Thursday, October 24 & Sunday, October 27, 2019, 10 p.m.

Theofanidis Symphony No. 1, Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1

Robert Spano, conductor; Louis Lortie, piano; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Thursday, October 31 & Sunday, November 3, 2019, 10 p.m.

All-Rachmaninoff: Isle of the Dead, Piano Concerto No. 4, Symphonic Dances

Edward Gardiner, conductor; Simon Trpceski, piano; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Thursday, November 7 & Sunday, November 10, 2019, 10 p.m.

Bernstein Three Meditations from MASS, Shostakovich Symphony No. 7, “Leningrad”

Robert Spano, conductor; Johannes Moser, cello; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Thursday, November 14 & Sunday, November 17, 2019, 10 p.m.

Turley City of Ghosts, Higdon Viola Concerto, Berlioz Symphonie Fantastique

Robert Spano, conductor; Roberto Diaz, viola; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Thursday, November 21 & Sunday, November 24, 2019, 10 p.m.

Sibelius Symphony No. 1, Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 3

Stephen Mulligan, conductor; Nikolai Lugansky, piano; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Thursday, November 28 & Sunday, December 1, 2019, 10 p.m.

Mozart Symphony No. 41, “Jupiter,” Verdi Four Sacred Pieces

Robert Spano, conductor; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra & Chorus

Thursday, December 5 & Sunday, December 8, 2019, 10 p.m.

Kodaly Dances of Galanta, Conus Violin Concerto, Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4

Henrik Nanasi, conductor; David Coucheron, violin; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Thursday, December 12 & Sunday, December 15, 2019, 10 p.m.

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 21, Strauss Thus Spake Zarathustra

Peter Oundjian, conductor; Louis Lortie, piano; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Thursday, December 19 & Sunday, December 22, 2019, 10 p.m.

Beethoven Egmont Overture & “Triple” Concerto, Schumann Symphony No. 1, “Spring”

Robert Spano, conductor; Daniel Hope, violin; David Finckel, cello; Wu Han, piano; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Thursday, December 26 & Sunday, December 29, 2019, 10 p.m.

Gandolfi Imaginary Numbers, Mozart Piano Concerto No. 25, Bartok Concerto for Orchestra

Robert Spano, conductor; Jeremy Denk, piano; principal wind players of the ASO

Thursday, January 2 & Sunday, January 5, 2020, 10 p.m.

Bernstein Chichester Psalms, Beethoven Symphony No. 9, “Choral”

Thomas Sondergard, conductor; Jessica Rivera, soprano; Stephanie Lauricella, mezzo-soprano; Thomas Cooley, tenor; Andrea Mastroni, bass; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra & Chorus

Thursday, January 9 & Sunday, January 12, 2020, 10 p.m.

Sullivan Overture di Ballo, Elgar Cello Concerto, Schumann Symphony No. 2

Carlos Kalmar, conductor; Sheku Kanneh-Mason, cello; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Thursday, January 16 & Sunday, January 19, 2020, 10 p.m.

Prokofiev Symphony No. 4, Ravel Piano Concerto in G, Stravinsky Firebird Suite

Lionel Bringuier, conductor; Lise de la Salle, piano; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Thursday, January 23 & Sunday, January 26, 2020, 10 p.m.

Prior …of shadow and light…, Oliverio Double Timpani Concerto, Beethoven Symphony No. 5

Robert Spano, conductor; Mark Yancich & Paul Yancich, timpani; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Thursday, January 30 & Sunday, February 2, 2020, 10 p.m.

Milhaud The Bull on the Roof, Canteloube Songs of the Auvergne, Debussy Preludes & La Mer

Donald Runnicles, conductor; Kim-Lillian Strebel, soprano; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Thursday, February 6 & Sunday, February 9, 2020, 10 p.m.

Bernstein Halil, Beethoven Leonore Overture No. 3 & Symphony No. 6, “Pastoral”

Donald Runnicles, conductor; Christina Smith, flute; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Thursday, February 13 & Sunday, February 16, 2020, 10 p.m.

Season Finale 2018–19: Beethoven Fidelio (complete opera)

Robert Spano, conductor; Christine Goerke, Leonore; Joseph Kaiser, Florestan; Nmon Ford, Pizarro; Morris Robinson, Don Fernando; et al.; Atlanta Symphony Orchestra & Chorus

Thursday, February 20 & Sunday, February 23, 2020, 10 p.m.

Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra: Highlights from the youth symphony’s 2018–19

concert season. 

Stephen Mulligan, conductor; Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra
donaldrunnicles.org

Jet-set conductor Donald Runnicles is all over the map, literally. In Berlin, he’s music director of the German Opera. In Wyoming, he heads the Grand Teton Music Festival. And he often visits Georgia as principal guest conductor of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra.

It all began in Scotland, where Runnicles grew up the son of a church choirmaster and an amateur pianist. In May, between weekends of Debussy and Beethoven with the ASO, he sat down with GPB’s Sarah Zaslaw. She asked about his earliest musical experience.


ASO Media

The Atlanta Symphony Orchestra released a new album of music from one of its own, Michael Kurth. Among the pieces on Everything Lasts Forever: music inspired by Atlanta graffiti, travel—and betrayal, in his choral work Miserere.

Kurth joined Sarah Zaslaw of GPB's Nightcap and Atlanta Symphony broadcasts to discuss Miserere.


Angela Morris

The Atlanta Symphony Orchestra unveils its lineup for the 2019/2020 season today. Sarah Zaslaw, who hosts “The ASO on GPB” and “Nightcap,” brings "On Second Thought" this preview of what’s to come with ASO music director Robert Spano.


Jeff Roffman

Even professional musicians haven’t heard of him. But Russian violinist and composer Julius Conus did exist, and in 1896 he wrote a Violin Concerto in E minor. Years later, Jascha Heifetz recorded the piece, in which form it reached the ears of a Norwegian boy who would grow up to become the concertmaster of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra. Now David Coucheron is excited to perform the Conus Violin Concerto for the first time himself March 7 and 9 with his colleagues in Atlanta. He spoke with GPB’s Sarah Zaslaw about this obscure but “surprisingly beautiful” work.


Jeff Roffman

Broken string? Tumbling shoulder rest? Nothing stands between Justin Bruns – second chair violinist of the Atlanta Symphony – and Vivaldi’s “Four Seasons.” 

In May 2018, his solo in those four concertos anchored the ASO’s debut performance at Spivey Hall in Morrow. That concert airs at 10 p.m. on Thursday and Sunday, February 7 and 10, 2019 on The ASO on GPB.

Bruns spoke with GPB’s Sarah Zaslaw about Vivaldi and birds, roles and nerves.


“Utility conductor” isn’t his real title, but it might as well be. Officially, Stephen Mulligan is assistant conductor of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and music director of the Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra. That means he conducts educational and other community performances, leads the ASYO, studies all the ASO’s main concert repertoire, attends all rehearsals, and stands ready to jump onstage at a moment’s notice if a scheduled conductor falls ill.

JD Scott

Elizabeth Tiscione was just 21 when she won the position of principal oboist in the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra.

Jeff Roffman

You’ll usually find Alcides Rodriguez in the woodwind section of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra. This weekend, though, he’s putting down his clarinet and picking up percussion – as the soloist in Ricardo Lorenz’s Concerto for Venezuelan Maracas and Orchestra. Does the idea of a maracas concerto sound preposterous? GPB’s Sarah Zaslaw asked Alcides Rodriguez how a pair of shakers can hold the audience’s interest for a quarter hour.

Interview Highlights

On the tricky technique