Kemp Declares State Of Emergency Ahead Of Hurricane Dorian

Aug 29, 2019

UPDATE 4:30 p.m.: Gov. Brian Kemp has declared a state of emergency for 12 Georgia counties — Brantley, Bryan, Camden, Charlton, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce and Wayne — as Hurricane Dorian approaches Florida’s coastline.

ORIGINAL STORY: Updated forecasts Thursday morning shifted the track of Hurricane Dorian's center farther south. Kemp and other state officials will provide another update at 1 p.m. Watch it live here.

Part of the Georgia coast, including Savannah, was outside the so-called error cone, which shows locations where the storm's center could possibly go. Still, the Chatham Emergency Management Agency noted in a Facebook post that "impacts...may still be possible."

The cone does not account for the size of the storm, so hurricane or tropical storm conditions are still possible outside the cone.

Officials say residents should still keep an eye on the storm.

Areas farther south, including Glynn and Camden counties, remained in the error cone Thursday morning. Officials there are bracing for storm impacts — including potential flooding — and urging residents to prepare as well.

Officials with the Glynn County Emergency Management Agency said they were already expecting higher-than-normal tides because of astronomical conditions. That could make flooding from heavy rains and storm surge worse.