Internships

GPB is an 18 radio station, 9 television station network broadcasting to all of Georgia and parts of Florida, Alabama, Tennessee and South Carolina. Oh, and the world via the internet and our podcasts! Our Atlanta-based interns and adult learners get hands-on experience in the GPB’s news and radio departments. 

Interns are currently enrolled in high school or college, or recent graduates who’ve been out of school for less than a year. Interns must work at least 10 hours a week on a set schedule and commit to a full semester.

Adult learners have been out of school for more than a year, but still want to have an internship-style experience of at least 10 hours a week on a set schedule. No compensation will be offered. 

NEWS – You’ll learn how to use audio and video recording equipment and editing software; conduct interviews and produce original spots and sound-rich features for broadcast on GPB and GPBNews.org. For internships in Atlanta, email application and resume to Leah Fleming lfleming@gpb.org if you prefer morning hours and to Rickey Bevington at rbevington@gpb.org if you prefer afternoon hours.  For internships in Macon, email application and resume to Josephine Bennett at jbennett@gpb.org.  For internships in Savannah, email Cindy Hill at chill@gpb.org.

DIGITAL & SOCIAL MEDIA (Atlanta) Learn how to write news for the web, digital and social platforms and assist with the backend of podcast and NPR One.  If phrases like data analytics and content management systems don’t scare you, this is the internship for you. You'll also have a chance to produce news spots and features for radio that will live on the website.  Email application and resume to Ellen Eldridge at eeldridge@gpb.org

TALK SHOW (Atlanta) – Learn how a talk show is produced, from choosing topics to booking guests, writing scripts and posting to social media. Interns will also have the opportunity to write and produce their own reported stories, and record short interviews that will be included in live talk show segments.

If you love politics, Political Rewind is your show.  Email application and resume to Tom Faust at tfaust@gpb.org

PODCAST (Atlanta) – Learn how podcasts are made, from start to finish and help in the process.  Email application and resume to Sean Powers at spowers@gpb.org.